Security Council Demands Access to MH17 Site

security council

The Security Council met yet again to discuss the downing of flight MH17 following the improper treatment of the crash site by the separatists in Eastern Ukraine over the weekend. The Council unanimously passed Resolution 2166 demanding armed groups to give international investigators “safe, secure, full and unrestricted access” to the site. The agreement also insisted on the dignified treatment and recovery of the remains of the victims.

Ambassador Samantha Power of America stated that the resolution was passed because there are “armed thugs” walking on the site with “debris crunching beneath their feet.” She added that, “If Russia is not part of the solution, it will continue to be part of the problem,” when commenting on Russia’s finding Ukraine culpable for the incident. Ambassador Churkin of Russia responded that the literary track chosen by Ambassador Power made the meeting controversial and turned “the discussion of a tragedy into a farce.” He also made further claims, alleging that Kiev is drawing on the shock of the incident for self-serving purposes and that evidences submitted by Ukraine have been tampered with. In response, Ambassador Surgeyev of Ukraine stated that his government has been forthright with the investigation process and has invited representatives of four countries, including Russia, to examine the site according to international conventions.

The Foreign Ministers of Australia, Luxembourg and the Netherlands, whose compatriots were victims of the flight, were present. Ms. Bishop of Australia said her country “will not rest until we bring them home.” Portraying the emotions of his nation, Mr. Timmermans of the Netherlands stated that the grief of the Dutch nation turns into anger when child victims’ toys are “being tossed around.” He stated that the impeded access of the rescue workers is an example of “the political game that someone is playing.”

Meeting Title: 7221th Meeting of the UN Security Council

Speakers: Representatives of Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Chad, China, Chile, France, Germany, Indonesia, Jordan, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, The Netherlands, NewZealand, Nigeria, The Philippines, Republic of Korea and Rwanda, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, The United States, Ukraine and Vietnam to the United Nations

Location: Security Council Chamber, United Nations Headquarters, New York City

Date: 21 July 2014

Summary Written by WIT Representative: Harrison Chung

Edited by: Suzy Hallak

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s